Winter Anime (2009)

December 1, 2008 at 12:00 pm | Posted in Anime | 19 Comments
Tags:

winter08

Wow 2009. It’s going to be the new year when all of the anime on my list are airing.

I’m only really interested in a few series this season, which is to be expected. Winter is as slow as summer, so it didn’t take me very long to put this together. Especially since my previews only contain things I want to mention (in this case anything I might watch). I’m a lazy blogger after all.

I only have about six anime I’m even mildly interested in. Which is good since I’ll have some anime that will be carrying over. I’m probably not going to go past more than two episodes for two of my five picks too. The rest we’ll see.

First, let’s start off with what’s definitely continuing that I’m watching. And keep it nice and simple for once.

  • Shugo Chara!! Doki
  • Clannad ~After Story~
  • ToraDora!
  • To Aru Majutsu no Index
  • Skip Beat!

Skip Beat! still doesn’t have a confirmed episode count, but I think I heard 13 episodes recently. Skip Beat! is going to stream on CR, so it has to have more than 12 episodes.

As for the new shows…well anything I want to watch is a completely new anime so no need to categorize this time. Anime are ordered by my level of interest.

winter08whitealbum

Series: White Album
Adaptation: Visual Novel from Leaf
Airdate: 01/03
Website: http://www.whitealbum-tv.com/
Videos: Game Opening, Game Ending,
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Seiyuu: Nana Mizuki (Rina Ogata), Aya Hirano (Yuki Morikawa)

Fujii Touya, an ordinary university student is going out with an idol Morikawa Yuki. As Yuki becomes popular, the couple begins to drift. Touya meets a popular idol, Ogata Rina, who belongs to the same office as Yuki. (To clarify, basically expect a big love triangle)

I have a small problem with the title (I already ranted and it’s been erased), but everything else I’m looking forward to I guess. Mostly for the obvious reason, Nana-sama. The two girls do some singing and Nana-sama is singing the opening.

I think I’d be interested in this anime even without Nana-sama, but that has certainly sparked more interest (making this the anime I look forward to most). It’s an older game, so that has me interested. Also…love triangle has my interest. Which brings up a weird point, for some reason lots of people seem to be expecting this series to be yuri, but I did quite a bit of “research” on the game and I didn’t hear anything about yuri. You think it would get a mention. I think some people are letting their imaginations go crazy with the promo image. But someone please correct me if I’m wrong.

But yeah…looking forward to this one (but mostly for Nana-sama).

Watching? Yes.
Blogging? Yes, likely in weekly single posts.

winter08mariaholic

Series: Maria†Holic
Adaptation: Manga by Minari Endou
Airdate: 01/04
Website: http://www.mariaholic.com/
Videos: 15 Second Promo
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Seiyuu: Asami Sanada (Kanako Miyamae), Yu Kobayashi (Mariya Shidou), Marina Inoue (Matsurika Shinouji)

Kanako enrolls in all-girls school since she has a phobia of men and wants to find her destined yuri partner. She meets a freshman named Mariya who fits her criteria, except Mariya happens to be a cross-dressing (trap) sadistic boy.

Winter’s “everyone and their mother” series. I guess I’m part of everyone and I look forward to meeting our collective mother. This series basically covers my two main guilty pleasures. Traps and yuri (and maids). I honestly think I like yuri more than most straight girls should. Especially considering I don’t care for yaoi or BL at all. At least…I think it’s because I find it funny? I’m also a fan of cute girls and there’s plenty of those in yuri.

And this makes fun of yuri as best as it can. Ah…it’s fun. Let’s just leave it at that. Fun. There’s a reason why everyone (and our mother) wants to see it. However because of the “everyone” bit, this is probably being constricted to my Weekly Anime.

Watching? Hell yes.
Blogging? In Weekly Anime, maybe single posts.

winter08kurokami

Series: KUROKAMI: The Animation
Adaptation: Manga by Dall-Young Lim (Art by Sung-Woo Park)
Airdate: 01/08
Website: http://www.kurokami-anime.net/
Videos: Voiceless Promo
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Seiyuu: Daisuke Namikawa (Keita Ibuki), Noriko Shitaya (Kuro)
Sayaka Ohara, Yukari Tamura

Keita Ibuki is a struggling computer programmer. He has a chance meeting one night with a Mototsumitama named Kuro. He tries to protect her when she is attacked in an ambush by another Mototsumitama. Keita loses his left arm during the fight, but Kuro saves him by giving him her left arm. This creates a contract between them, making her more powerful than before. However, they need to be together at all times in order to be at their strongest.

It’s thanks to kanzeon that I got interested in this anime in the first place. Normally it’s something that would go right by me without me even taking more than a second glance at it. I mean the name KUROKAMI alone makes it sound like two words just thrown together for a weeaboo’s super unique “anime” about god ninja or something (you can totally see that now, can’t you?).

But now I’m interested enough to give this a try. The images and promo material all piqued my interest. It sounds like it’s going to be really cool, but I think it all depends on whether it’s animated well or not. My hopes are high for the animation though. It just depends on whether it can hold my interest or not (let’s hope so).

Watching? Probably.
Blogging? In Weekly Anime if I have something to say.

winter08sorakake

Series: Sora wo Kakeru Shoujo
Adaptation: (Original Work)
Airdate: 01/05
Website: http://www.sorakake.net/
Videos: 15 Second Promo
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Seiyuu: Mako (Akiha Shishido), Aya Endo (Itsuki Kannagi), Yui Makino (Honka Kawai)

In the year 311 of the Orbital Calendar, humanity has migrated to countless colony clusters in space. A space colony girl named Akiha Shishido encounters a malevolent artificial intelligence named Leopard that has been installed on a colony. Akiha is joined by an Inter-Colony Police officer named Itsuki Kannagi, a taciturn young girl named Honoka Kawai, and a robot named Imoko “Imo-chan” Shishido.

There was a lot of misinformation in random places about this anime for a little while, like that it was just going to be an OAV or some crap, but it all seems settled now. I would have watched it no matter what since I am inexplicably drawn to crap from Sunrise for some reason. Just am, can’t help it.

But I saw the seiyuu more recently and…yeah. I’m going to watch this mostly for Yui Makino. You probably don’t know it because it doesn’t come up very often, but she’s one of my very favorite seiyuu. Especially when she’s singing, she sounds so cute.

Watching? I think so.
Blogging? Completely unsure.

winter08asuno

Series: Asu no Yoichi
Adaptation: Manga by Yu Minamoto
Airdate: 01/08
Website: http://www.tbs.co.jp/anime/yoichi/
Videos: Not Yet Available
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Seiyuu: Nobuhiko Okamoto (Yoichi Karasuma), Rina Satou (Ibuki Ikuraga)
Haruka Tomatsu, Hitomi Nabatame, Yui Makino, Yukari Tamura

A boy swordsman, Yoichi and his father live on a mountain, training. His father sends him to a dojo their relative owns, even though he has absolutely no experience living in an urban area. Four beautiful sisters are living in the lodge and…well the expected for us and unexpected for him awaits.

I have pretty much no interest in the premise of this anime, but I need to try new things. Even if it sounds like it’s ripped off from a dozen other things. Mostly though…I was lured in by the girl with the purple hair and the white ribbon when I saw the promo image. I’m weak for girls with big ribbons in their hair.

Of course, then I looked up the seiyuu and…Yui Makino~! That makes two anime this season? Awesome~ She hasn’t done much this year except for a couple of OAV so I’m happy to see two series. Then we also have Yukari Tamura playing a character and she’s like…the queen of cute voices. Haruka Tomatsu has also grown on me after Kannagi. So I guess this is my, “purely for the seiyuu” anime this season.

Watching? As long as the seiyuu lure me to~
Blogging? Maybe the first episode in Weekly Anime.

winter08akikan

Series: Akikan!
Adaptation: Light Novel by Riku Ranjo
Airdate: 01/03
Website: http://www.melomelomelon.com/
Videos:
Voiceless Promo
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Seiyuu: Jun Fukuyama (Kakeru Daichi), Sayaka Narita (Melon)
Mamiko Noto, Aki Toyosaki, Nobuhiko Okamoto

Kakeru Daichi is a typical high school boy who one day buys a can of melon juice soda from a vending machine. The can suddenly transforms into a beautiful but standoffish girl that Kakeru nicknames “Melon”. More “Akikan” (“empty can”) girls appear to cause more trouble and these girls need to be infused with carbon dioxide from kissing to survive.

I actually hated the idea of this anime as soon as I heard of it. I got visions of tons of horribly generic anime all at once. But I am compelled to watch it. I just absolutely have to. I am attracted to crap. I’ll probably drop it after one or two episodes though. I think I’m just compelled to watch because I like the art in the light novels (done by Hiro Suzuhira). But then…that art won’t really be in the anime.

I’m willing to just give it a try because I enjoy watching the lesser-known seiyuu from Shugo Chara! doing other things. In this case it’s Sayaka-san who plays KusuKusu and does an adorable job (so I want to hear more~). At any rate, I can almost guarantee I won’t blog this. Even in my Weekly Anime.

Watching? Giving it a chance, but probably just one episode.
Blogging? No intention of blogging whatsoever.

winter08munto

Series: Sora o Miageru Shoujo no Hitomi ni Utsuru Sekai (Munto works too)
Adaptation: Well, there’s that OAV
Airdate: 01/13
Website: http://www.munto.com/
Videos: Tons of Stuff on YouTube for the OAV
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Akuto, the main source of energy is running low and the Heavens, a world of islands, hidden beyond time, floating above ours, has united against the Magical Kingdom whom uses the most energy. To save both the Magical Kingdom and the Heavens and restore the flow of akuto, the Magical King Munto must follow a vision and find the girl Yumemi in the lower world. Yumemi herself is just a normal girl except that she is the only one who can see the islands of the Heavens floating above. When Munto appears before her she starts thinking about hers and others responsibility to the world. (Just copy and pasted from ANN’s page on the OAV)

I thought this was going to air in Spring, but I guess it got moved up. Kind of unexpected since KyoAni is still working on Clannad and they don’t normally do two things at the same time. Hopefully they do it well. Also unusual is that this is KyoAni’s only original work, so I guess I want to check it out for that reason.

To be honest, I’m not that interested. The plot sounds kind of basic, but the girl is cute so I want to try it out. At least if I don’t have to go back and watch the OAV first (but apparently I don’t so it’s all good).

Watching? Eh. Maybe.
Blogging? Pretty sure of a no here, but we’ll see.

So that’s it for my anime this season. There’s always a couple of other shows that may get my attention. It happened this Fall, so it could happen again for Winter. There are a couple of other anime I’m keeping my eye on, but I’m promising myself that I won’t even touch them unless something fails for me. I’m going to be busy this winter (hopefully).

I added in a seiyuu section this time because I so often base what I plan to watch on the seiyuu appearing. I put what seemed to be main roles with the seiyuu and character, then I simply listed other seiyuu that were of interest to me specifically.

This post is probably going to be updated a few times, so I’m going to be adding the widget in my sidebar again for updates.

The sources for my information can be found in the links for each entry. All of the summaries were edited versions from the sites I linked to. Images were all obtained from the officialy websites. Other details and the original list of series airing that I worked from came from The Fansub Wiki.

19 Comments

  1. Haha, yup, I’ll be watching Maria+Holic too :D Traps are actually pretty hilarious and while yuri really isn’t my thing, it looks like the show will be pretty amusing.

    Btw, where did you find out what’s airing and continuing to air from Fall? I’d love to see what I can expect to still be watching from Fall, as well as add in some new shows if I find them to be entertaining enough. I’m not surprised that Clannad will be 20+ episodes, but I almost wasn’t expecting Toradora to go on for that long. I’m glad it is though, because it’s so freaking awesome ^^ Oh, but does that mean Chaos;Head is only going to be 12-13 episodes? If so that means it’s almost done D:

    But in any case, I’m definitely watching Maria+Holic, and the best part is that gg is going to be subbing it, so I’m pretty happy :>

  2. I think I’ll be watching all the new anime first episodes’ first 10 minutes or so, just to see what they are like. The only one I don’t plan on watching from the start is the yuri one. Just not my cup of tea. I’m especially looking forward to Yui Makino’s voice acting. One of my all-time favorite songs is Amurita by her.

    Thanks a lot for all the information on the winter anime. It makes my research a lot easier. ^^

  3. Oh winter yes, I hate winter. Naturally because I live in the North part of Oregon. I probably won’t give any of these anime a chance. It’s the winter season and Macys is BUSIER than ever, so likely I’ll have little time to do anything at all! But I might watch Maria Holic every now and then. Maybe even blog it. I don’t know…….

  4. Looks like everyone is doing these previews! :P I’ll wait to do mine at the end of the December.

    I’ll be blogging about Tale of Genji and Maria Holic. I’ll check out other series to see how they feel and might blog about them too.

  5. i am excited for the new animes they look awesome especially the yuri one lol XD

  6. My group just recently done the winter previews too at Hey, Say, Anime! XD It seems like we have the same interests in anime. Bravo. ^^ I look forward to your reviews.

  7. haha when I first heard about Mariaholic I was like wait what? Though I read the first few chapters online, and I can say I’m pretty excited!! :)

  8. Nehh…I think I’m only going to blog one show and you know which. xD Love triangles I’m not really all for at the moment but if it’s Nana-sama, I’d be willing to watch grass grow (ok, maybe not, but she’d be singing about the grass and it’d be funny, lol).
    Hmm, I’m still debating with myself if I should do it on a weekly basis so it’s really going to depend on how the plot goes. If it’s interesting enough to make me want to ramble about it, then sure. If not, I’ll just do it bunched up together.

    Maria Holic I’m definitely giving try (of course, traps!). Not a yuri fan much, though. I like shoujo-ai for the laughs and often misinterpreted friendship loves on some cases but yuri can be watched for laughs, too. Heh.
    And Marina Inoue is part of the cast. Hmm, I haven’t really liked any of the other roles she played after I first discovered her on Shana as the voice of Pheles but her performance in that left me admiring her. As Eriol, she was pretty good, too. So yea, I want to see what voice she’s going to put on for this Matsurika, who I’m assuming is the blond.
    & before you ask, no, I haven’t gotten around to Skip Beat! yet. *dodges a SB! GN* o.O;

    Kurokami – Will watch but probably won’t blog, just give first impression. I’m sure pretty much every other anime blog out there will be blogging this one and I only have light interest in it because it’s being animated by Sunrise (right?).

    Asa no Yoichi and Akikan! – Oh god, two more harems to keep up the fanservice. *sigh* Well, watching it for the seiyuus, too, and lols. Won’t blog but will give first impressions.

    Other than that…I’m interested in Genji to see how’d they do the art (and it’s another harem, feh). There are some other minor ones but I doubt I’ll care enough about those.
    Oh, and you’re going to put up the xxxholic (if you’re keeping up with the anime, anyways) and TRC OVA later on, right?
    And Higurashi b/c Higurashi is awesome even if gruesomely gory.

    …I know! I know! I’ll get around to starting the blog soon! ^^;

  9. probably 1,2, and 4. I’m going to watch the new Slayers season too. I might blog 1 or 2. I’m also going to try the Anne of Green Gables series, since she’s the national literary icon where I come from.

    Xiao: You might be starting your blog? Awesome!

  10. White Album is at the top of my list for the upcoming season as well, though I think the main attraction for me will still be After Story (assuming we eventually get into the Tomoya/Nagisa stuff).

  11. Ahh, so that’s what it’s called! Maria+Holic. I saw it in Newtype December issue and was wondering what it was. Thanks for the great coverage! I’ll probably watch White Album and Maria+Holic (just fro the trap)

  12. You pretty much summed up everything I’m interested in, though I doubt I’ll be blogging anything new. :( Winter is such a slow season…I like it when tons of jamp-packed anime come out all at once! XD Looking forward to White Album though! (Oh Nana-sama! *Huggles*)

  13. nazarielle: Traps are AWESOMEly hilarious. I love traps no matter what, but I’m guessing guys are okay with the idea of traps in this series more because they know to be in the look out.

    I just got the episode counts from MAL. Such a useful site, though you have to assume people editing it know what they’re doing. Chaos;Head has been confirmed for 12 episodes almost from the beginning.

    gg is kind of on my bad side right now though because they dropped ToraDora and I still haven’t decided on a fansubber I trust for every episode. I’m just going with whatever is on Veoh I guess.

    Tsuki-no-Hikari: Ah well yes. Some people just don’t like yuri. Maria=Holic seems more like a spoof on yuri to me though.

    Yes! Another Yui Makino fan! I love Amurita too. I used to listen to it all the time.

    Dia: You have to pick up something though~ Otherwise it’s no fun. If you’re not sure, just wait for people to post their first impressions and then try some things out.

    Kitsune: I’ll be looking forward to your preview then. You seem to watch a lot of things I don’t, so hopefully something will catch my interest in your preview.

    Hm. Genji is one of the things I’m considering watching, but I’m not sure if it will hold my interest. I dropped the novel (translation) after a month of trying, not because the language was boring, but because the characters all seemed boring and it didn’t properly hold my attention. But I want to try again.

    Mo0on12: Everyone likes Maria+Holic don’t they? Yes…I’m looking forward to that one quite a bit.

    Minnie: Ooo, I’ll be checking your Winter preview then. I’m always interested in people who like similar things (lol).

    duckysgoquack: Ah! Everyone who reads the manga says that. I’m trying to avoid it now so I don’t set up expectations, but it’s getting me excited anyway.

    xiao_jie: I’m only into love triangles when I have the promise of one girl smacking the other. I don’t know why, I guess I just hate love triangles where everyone acts nice. (And Nana-sama too~).

    Do it whenever you feel like it. If you decide one something ahead of time, you’ll get bored. Just blog when you have something to say!

    I like shoujo-ai for the same reason. The laughs and misinterpreted friendship loves. And Maria Holic is poking fun at that stuff (with traps!) so it’s got to be good.
    Marina Inoue is becoming another favorite of mine. She’s versatile, though I’m not sure which character she’s voicing in this. I need to find out.
    And at this point, I’d say look into Skip Beat! whenever you have the time. There’s rumors going around that it’s only going to be 13 episodes anyway (which would suck since the manga is 130 chapters so far).

    Well, KuroKami is done by Sunrise, but since SoraKake is too and that’s an original series, I’d say that one is going to be more popular for blogging. People love picking on original Sunrise.

    Well, xxxHolic and Tsubasa I kind of figure didn’t need a preview. No real information I can provide (besides, only xxHolic has been included in previews for some reason). But I’m going to have to blog them both…in a new OAV category (ooo~).

    I want to watch Higurashi, but I’m waiting to buy a cheaper boxset of the first season (stupid Geneon! If they didn’t go down a boxset would be out!)

    Yay! Hearing you talk about a blog so much makes me very happy. I’m looking forward to it!

    warriorhope: I want to watch Slayers, but seeing as I never got around to the other series, I can’t quite yet. Anne of Green Gables…makes me want to read the book (I think I read an abridged version when I was little, but I don’t remember it).

    ETERNAL: Oh well yeah. None of the Winter anime surpass my favorite shows from Fall (really just Clannad though). And I’m sure we’ll be getting to more Tomoya/Nagisa stuff. The preview from the last episode is promising.

    oTAKu: More people watching for the traps. I wonder if anyone isn’t going to try Maria Holic. Which means I can either expect every one spreading love for the series, or an extreme rage after it airs.

    amayalee: Winter is slow. Summer is too, but at least in Summer I usually have stuff to do besides watch anime (winter is too cold to go outside). Well…as soon as Winter starts it’s time to look forward to Spring anyway. I already have one guaranteed watch for spring (Shoujo from the ’80s!).

    Aw, no new blogging? Well I suppose it’s just as well since you just came back to blogging.

  14. the only thing i’m pretty much looking forward to this is list is white album – forced to watch because of love for the touya’s seiyuu.

    the only other thing i’m looking forward to would be natsume yuujinchou and genji. i hope a lot of the shows are good though…

  15. Uhh… It’s really weird but there’s only five shows I’m guaranteed to watch next season. Of course Maria+Holic (I also love traps and yuri~ XD), White Album (Nana-Aya showdown), KuroKami (for some action), and Natsume Yuujinchou 2… Hetalia Axis Powers is LOVE but it’s lacking too much promotion and news (which worries me if it would still be airing this winter T.T).

    There’s more so I guess it won’t hurt to try watching just a bit of their first episodes… Winter was really a letdown from Fall season’s huge offer but at least I can consider this season as a break from heavy anime-blogging duties and give time for ze holidays!!! ^_^.

  16. Since I want to keep track of your future Winter reviews to compare, you mind if I blogroll you Miss Fuyu? ^^

  17. I look forward to the new anime season. Hopefully we can start 2009 right :D.

  18. biankita: Well yeah. It is a slow season. I’m expecting to drop at least a few things (out of the few I have) or if not…I’m not very excited about anything. Hopefully what we do have is good, like you said.

    kanzeon: It’s not that weird I don’t think. Not many people are interested in this season and it’s kind of expected. Winter season always tends to be slow (especially compared to Fall…and Spring). At least I think it’s better than summer though.

    Hetalia Axis Powers’ lack of promotion could also be because of a low budget though…which isn’t exactly good either.

    Minnie: Haha. I was actually about to ask you the same thing when I was able to comment on your blog. So the answer is yes.

    M12: Hopefully! Best to keep an optimistic mood!

  19. Fuyu: Haha, I know what you mean, but the plus side is, the translator decided to keep translating Toradora, he just found a different group. They’re called qq, they take a while, but it’s well worth the wait, the subs are top notch. And the translator does tons of research into the cultural references, you can find it all on his blog: http://blog.ilif.in/

    As for traps, I think it’s kinda funny really, especially the situation in Maria+Holic. The girl goes to an all girl school to get away from boys.. and ends up with a trap. And since I already know that he’s a trap, I can kinda be ‘on guard’ for it, but I’m willing to bet there will be another trap character in the series somewhere that’ll be totally blindsiding us just for fun, so I’m not trusting my eyes on this one at all :p


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Entries and comments feeds.

