Cosplay Answers

November 1, 2008 at 2:21 pm | Posted in Random | 10 Comments

Okay, here are all the answers to my little Halloween Cosplay Challenge from yesterday. It’s really not necessary to give it a whole post, but editing it all in seemed too messy. So we’re doing this instead.

This way people can still check out the challenge before looking at all the answers too!

Plus I have a few comments to make and I want to give proper credit when it could be found (I do my best otherwise). You know, I’ve really been trying to get in the habit of crediting every artist somehow, but it’s hard when none of the image sites seem to do the same (because anyone can just upload them).

I’ll go in order, but first I just want to mention…only one image didn’t end up with a full answer from everyone. That’s number number 14 so you can skip right to that if you’re curious about the answer.

Quick disclaimer though. I’m trying to credit the artists, but I can only credit based on information I find. If that information was wrong, I’m wrong. (I didn’t credit before because you could find the answers out that way sometimes)

Number 01: Tomoyo, Syaoran, and Sakura (CardCaptor Sakura) as their counterparts in Tsubasa Chronicle

Nothing really to say here. This is an obvious one for CLAMP fans. Though considering the manga, we can’t just call them “counterparts” anymore can we? Ugh. Dumb CLAMP. Screwing stuff up.

Artist is moonknives.

Number 02: Fate Testarossa (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha) as Hatsune Miku (Vocaloid)

This is one I figured it might be hard to guess the character for because of the artist’s style. I only knew it was Fate because I read that. But then by looking at the bangs you can kind of get it. Though Miku is distinctive, as always. Even when the colors are changed to match the character.

Artist – yn1982

Number 03: Nogizaka Haruka (Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu) as Shana (Shakugan no Shana)

Probably obvious to anyone who even read blog entries about Haruka over the summer because of episode four where…Haruka cosplayed as Shana.

Artist unknown (might just be an official image).

Number 04: Hiiragi Tsukasa and Kagami (Lucky Star) as Fujibayashi Ryou and Kyou

I looked for one of these specifically. The purple-haired twins with…kind of similar attitudes. At least similar enough to go, “whoa! Similar!” Both sets from KyoAni and with their hair being the right length for their respective cosplays. Though I was disappointed by kind of a lack in cosplays.

Artist is moonknives.

Number 05: Sakura (CardCaptor Sakura) as Amulet Spade (Shugo Chara!)

To clarify for people who don’t watch Shugo Chara! often that means Amu‘s transformation with her chara Miki so any of those answers mean you’re getting the same thing.

…It’s nice to have Sakura cosplaying as Amu, but where is my image of Amu cosplaying as Sakura? Something like that is necessary.

Artist unknown.

Number 06: Vivio as Signum (Both Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS)

lol Vivio you poor girl. Your season of Nanoha was so disappointing that no one recognizes you. It’s odd though, Vivio pretty much switches costumes with every character in the series…except Caro who is the one closest to her age.

Artist Unknown.

Number 07: Hoshina Utau (Shugo Chara!) as Hatsune Miku

More Miku love! This makes Utau the second twin-tailed blonde voiced by Nana-sama to cosplay as Miku! Yay! (Is this really special? I don’t know) Um…I figured this one might have been a little harder because of the chibi style, but Utau has pretty distinctive hair (even though twintails are so popular) and the x-eggs definitely help.

Artist unknown.

Number 08: Nia Teppelin (Gurren Lagann) as Princess Serenity (Sailor Moon)

I think Usagi, Sailor Moon, Serena are all acceptable answers for the cosplay. Ah Nia~! This image really caught me by surprise it’s so pretty. Nia is prettier as Princess Serenity than Princess Serenity (even in the manga). …Oh god Nia. I want to watch Gurren Lagann again now.

Artist

Number 09: Suiseiseki (Rozen Maiden) as Nanoha (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha)

This is probably one of my favorites because it’s two characters and series I don’t think most would think to crossover. But it’s cute. Really cute. The more images I see of Suiseiseki in general, the more I understand why she won SaiMoe in 2006. Ah…I want to get through the manga quickly and get a job so I can buy the anime.

Artist unknown.

Number 10: Takara Miyuki from Lucky Star as Sheryl Nome from Macross Frontier

Wee! Kanzeon got this right when I was starting to think no one would. I thought that since some people would get the Ranka thing, they might get this as well. I guess people will always recognize Ranka because of “Kira~!” So it’s Miyuki from Lucky Star cosplaying as Sheryl, significant because they both have similar hair and the same seiyuu. There it is.

Artist is Kugui Kiyunemu (hopefully the website is right and not really SFW).

Number 11: Sakura (CardCaptor Sakura) as Hinaichigo (Rozen Maiden)

Hm, Samy mentioned it in a response and it got me thinking too. Her clothes really do look kind of like Amulet Angel’s…which kind of makes sense since Rozen Maiden is another Peach-Pit manga. I wonder if the same one designed both…

Artist is also moonknives.

Number 12: Amu (Shugo Chara!) as Hatsune Miku (Vocaloid)

I honestly believe every character in the world can be seen in Miku cosplay (or at least one of the vocaloids). Amu is no exception (ah I love the little Miku chara). So maybe Amu isn’t really cosplaying as Miku, but is dressed up as her would-be Vocaloid self? Chara-Nari Amulet Vocaloid! Or something~

Artist

Number 13: Kamikita Komari (Little Busters!) as Sakura (CardCaptor Sakura)

Not much to say. People who know Little Busters! would get this, but since it’s just a VN and hasn’t been adapted yet, it’s not surprising that a lot of people didn’t. I’ll take this moment to reccommend other ways of being filled with Little Busters! love right now though. Manga adaptation is very helpful~

Artist is moonknives…again.

Number 14: Shinku from Rozen Maiden as Sailor Moon from Sailor Moon

…Yeah. No one was able to get this one. This is one of the pictures I was talking about where the artists’ rendering might mess up with people getting it. People who got every other Rozen Maiden one didn’t get this one. I mean, even the other Shinku (if she had joints this would be easier).

Though I suppose if you could read it you’d get it. “In the name of Kun-Kun I shall punish you!” Cute.

Anyway the artist is Chiko and because of failcredit I can only give you her tag on danbooru (some unsafe ads).

Number 15: Furukawa Nagisa (Clannad) as…a girl in Air

I tend to think most people would come up with Misuzu as the girl, but just saying the Air uniform works the same. Any of the girls in this uniform too.

Artist is otoki raku.

Number 16: Hiiragi Kagami (Lucky Star) as Sasasegawa Sasami (Little Busters!)

Another one people won’t get unless they recognize Little Busters!…and it’s even a side character too (though she gets a route in EX apparently). It’s fitting for Kagami to cosplay as her since I now see her as Nagisa’s enemy now. It’s only fitting she cosplay as Rin’s “rival” too. The enemy of all Key heroines!

Artist is s e n (just the danbooru tag)

Number 17: Fate Testarossa (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha) as Ranka Lee (Macross Frontier)

Kira~! We needed at least one. But despite the amount of kira~ you can find on the internet, not many have the whole Ranka outfit.

I…can’t find where I got this from at all.

Number 18: Souseiseki and Suiseiseki (Rozen Maiden) as Amulet Spade and Amulet Clover

Why are the ones with longest names in the same thing and doubled up! Ah! But anyway~ More Peach-Pit crossovers. Or actually this is the first, I’m thinking of that image of Amu holding chibi Shinku and Hinaichigo. Anyway, glad there’s one of Suiseiseki as Amulet Clover or Su because of their shared love of desu.

Artist is kinako (danbooru tag). Also did the main image on the last post.

Number 19: Natsume Rin (Little Busters!) as Hatsune Miku (Vocaloid)

More Miku. The reason why there’s so much Miku (aside from Miku looking awesome) is that I really wanted Utau, Amu, and Rin all in here and there’s not much outside of Miku for them. Heh…Miku’s clothes look good with the Rin red twist on them.

Artist masayu (danbooru tag)

Number 20: All the girls (plus some…) as Yoko (Gurren Lagann)

Ah what a fun image. That’s all I can really say. Everyone wants to cosplay as Yoko, though some girls just can’t pull it off (poor Darry…she has no chest). And…we’re ignoring a certain someone in there (lol at Yoko on the side too).

Number 21: Hiiragi Kagami (Lucky Star) as Teletha Testarossa (Full Metal Panic!)

Well this one mimics the Lucky Star style for Kagami, but because her hair was changed to Tessa’s color and because it’s in her hairstyle, maybe she was harder to recognize? Even though cosplayers wear wigs a lot, they don’t really seem to do that much in the images (make characters more recognizable of course).

Artist is masakichi (NSFW)

Number 22: Caro Ru Lushe (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS) as Nanoha (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha)

Caro is so cute. She’d be my third favorite character if she got some actual screentime in her series with more of an actual backstory (but Caro in “Nanoha StrikerS Nano” is my favorite character so it’s all good).

Artist is frapowa

Number 23: Shinku (Rozen Maiden) as Sakura (CardCaptor Sakura)

And I guess Kun-Kun as Kero-chan too? Hehe. Kun-Kun. There’s a special episode with Kun-Kun isn’t there? Ah I really need to get the anime!

Artist Unknown

Number 24: Fuuko (Clannad) as the Black Magician Girl (Yu-Gi-Oh!)

…Oh lol. I never even realized how much of Yu-Gi-Oh! I saw until very recently. It’s kind of embarassing since I was probably 13 or 14 when I watched it. I have no idea why. (Well obviously since I forgot all about watching it I wasn’t that into it, but still…)

Anyway…Fuuko cosplaying as the Black Magician Girl. Really feels like the most random cosplay combo ever.

Artist

Number 25: Furukawa Nagisa (Clannad) as Ryuugu Rena (Higurashi)

Normally I have a rule about not using images for series I haven’t seen more than clips of (In Higurashi’s case it’s many very gruesome clips…), but this picture was just absolutely too great not to use. Best cosplay image ever. It really speaks for itself. I feel sorry for anyone who can’t get it.

lol at Dango background too.

Artist is suiya (Yay! Correct credit!)

So those are all the answers. Not sure who got the most right. You guys can count it up yourselves since I’m too lazy to decide what half answers are right. Decide for yourselves if you want to count them up and post them. If you got the most right you get…a nice congratulations. That’s nice.

But you guys all did well as a group since the only one that didn’t get an answer was number 14 (and people still recognized Sailor Moon cosplay anyway).

10 Comments

  1. […] Halloween Dress-up! October 31, 2008 at 2:55 pm | In Random | Answers Here. […]

  2. I got 16 totally right!It was very fun to do!Thanks!

  3. I can’t really remember how many I got right on the first try, but I did pretty well. It was a fun game~ Thanks for posting the game up in general!

  4. By the way this isn’t the best place to post it but will you write shugo chara episode 56 summary todaY?(Ok stupid question cause it has Naghiko in it so of course you will)Anyway you can remove this I was just asking…

  5. Safiria: No it’s fine. I’m doing the thoughts today and I’ll edit in the summary if I get the chance, but I’m kind of busy so the summary might have to wait until tomorrow.

    At the very least I’m going to link to someone else with a summary today.

  6. Okay!

  7. its so fun i got 15 one right :) Happy Halloween!

  8. ‘Number 14: Shinku from Rozen Maiden as Sailor Moon from Sailor Moon

    …Yeah. No one was able to get this one.’
    The eff? I was out trick-or-treating then a sleepover yesterday so I didnt really get to check the pictures and actually get to try and guess before the answers were already up, but I got that right off the bat o_O how couldnt anyone know that?

  9. W00T I didn’t completely fail! And that’s all i aim for in life.

  10. Yay, I got most of them right!

    Gah, I can’t believe I didn’t recognize the ones I couldn’t get, though. Had to facepalm myself when I found out. ^^;


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Entries and comments feeds.

