Computer Problems

October 18, 2008 at 3:13 am | Posted in Site | 19 Comments

Updated – Figured out the problem.

Well. Bad news everyone. My computer has run into some trouble. I’ll get into specifics in just a moment, but to make a long story short, I can’t blog right now.

It will definitely be an incredibly temporary situation. At the most, I won’t be able to post until Monday.

(oh, and the image has nothing to do with anything…obviously with a problem like this going on, I don’t care about relevant images.)

The problem is that my computer keeps freezing during random things. Mostly it’s been when I was trying to edit a post on WordPress, but basically it’s whenever my computer has to load anything for a long time.

I haven’t tested every single way to see what works and what doesn’t, because it’s frozen right after it starts up too. It froze while just a screensaver was going. It’s random and there’s something wrong with my computer (and nothing else).

Now, I suck with computers, but a little investigating tells me that it’s rather likely it’s a hardware problem, specifically with my hard drive. Hopefully that’s not true because I certainly don’t have the money to replace my hard drive right now and with the way things are going with the economy, I wouldn’t let my father pay for one right now, even if he offered and even though I know we can afford it. You never know what’s going to happen down the road and my parents spend enough money one me for necessary things they don’t even have to because I’m eighteen.

But even if the worst is true, I’ll suffer with the family computer, which is what I’m using right now. I’ll have re-adjust myself to the crazy difference between the keyboard and the screen. It’s really uncomfortable. But I used it all the time about a year ago. I’ll get used to it again.

However, I’m also sick and I can’t deal with this uncomfortable seating at all right now. My own set-up is perfectly designed for me to curl up in my big computer chair with a blanket, but this sucks. So I’m hoping to feel better by Monday and I’ll work little by little until then as well.

As for blogging, I think it might be best to skip Anime Weekly this week and I’ll just do my Shugo Chara! and Clannad posts on Monday, unless the problem is solved before then.

I did already watched Clannad and SC! so brief little thoughts on those:

Clannad – Mei is incredibly cute. She’s my second favorite Clannad girl again. The Sunohara/Mei route seems to be as great as everyone has said it would be. I hope we get our nice conclusion next week.

Shugo Chara! – …I really don’t know what to say anymore. Lulu is basically…*sigh* I’m not sure how to say it. She’s as cliched as a cliche character can possible be. Shugo Chara! is famous around my blog for its stubborn girls and basically they just shoved Lulu into the last type. We have our Cool and Spicy stubborn girl Amu, twin-tailed tsundere stubborn girl Utau, posing as a bitch, but secretly sweet and kind with family problems stubborn girl Rima, and…what’s left? Ojou-sama prideful stubborn. Or at least that’s what I got from her.

Mostly, she just feels like a mix of Rima and Utau because Amu’s stubbornness is too uniquely her own. And…she’s just incredibly generic. *sigh* Much like the rest of the episode and this story arc seems to be.

Full thoughts in my posts.

Hopefully this will all be solved tomorrow when I can call my brother. He’s solved every other computer problem the family has ever had, usually withing two days. It might even have been solved by now if it weren’t for the fact that I got sick and my sleeping schedule got all wonky. But! Tomorrow I’ll have more news for sure.

I’ll add on update here once I know what’s going on, but in the meantime, it might be best to check up on Twitter if you’re curious about how things are going.

Like I said before, hopefully it’s not too bad. And if anyone thinks they know what the problem might be, I’d be glad to hear it.

(Oh and apologies for messiness, blah, blah, blah. Being sick along with mildly panicked is sure to cause some mistakes.)

Update: So I called my brother and we basically figured out the problem. It was a problem with the power. I don’t know how that works, but whatever. I had too many things plugged in to one thing so once I  had just my computer stuff (and one light) plugged in, the computer turned on without freezing up. It was a little slow at first, but it hasn’t frozen since.

Apparently, it only became a problem because there’s some errors in the computer. I don’t know what exactly, my brother is giving my dad directions to fix it since I’m clueless. They don’t stop the computer from working now, but it’ll make everything work better now that they’re getting fixed.

So the problem seems to be solved, but still no blogging until tomorrow. I have Red Sox to watch tonight (we’re the fucking comeback masters!!!) and you know, the errors are still being fixed or whatever. So…tomorrow! Both my SC! and Clannad posts along with (hopefully) my Anime Weekly post. We’ll see.

Update 2: Oh also, just wanted to say…there might still be problems in the future. It’s fixed for now, but we’ll still have to wait and see if the solution will stick.

19 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry about your computer problems! Hope they’re fixed soon! *Hug* Good luck, and hope to read your blogs soon. :)

  2. computers are evil and breakdown without warning. i hope you get it up and running soon. :)

  3. i hope u and your comp will get well soon lol XD and i know what u said about shugo chara its getting boring i need ikuto arc and amuto bed scene NOW !! lol i just hate filler the anime is so boring …. i cant wait for next month for the new chapter …

  4. Urgh, I know what you mean. My computer has sometimes that kind of problem. It freezes when I’m doing random stuff, and sometimes when I’m not even doing nothing at all!

  5. Gah~ I hate it when that happens. I hope your computer will be back to normal soon. If not, get the baseball bat or possibly a few heavy dictionaries *cough Kyou cough* ready smash the computer with.

  6. lol wtf with the picture. XD

  7. Too bad. Hope it gets better soon.

  8. D= Computer problems suck don’t they?

    I can’t type properly on any computer but mine. Otherwise, it’s just feels awkward. Hope it gets fixed soon … unlike mine. =D

  9. Oh,that’s bad.I hope you can fix it as soon as possible!

  10. awww I hope you well soon and you fix ur computer

  11. Hope your computer gets better soon. ^^ Lols.

  12. Your computer might have caught a virus or something cuz what happened to yours seems really similar to what happened to mine. & I had to get it reconfigured but hopefully you don’t. You’ll have more space but…everything else is gone. *sigh* =.=; Well, hope it’ll get fixed soon.
    And I hope you feel better, too! Don’t worry about the blogging until you’re well again. You’ll need all your energy to fangirl (about Utau next week~! lol). haha But really, have a good rest. :)

  13. Wow…computer problem and getting sick? Ouch…
    Hope you and your computer get better soon. :)

  14. Wow, that sucks, I hope your brother can fix it! And I hope you start feeling better. At least you got to see Mei-chan being cute :p

  15. Poor Fuyu. Being sick with computer problems, that would be awful. I hope you come back soon!

  16. You’re kidding, right? Honestly, whoever you bought your computer from needs to be dragged out, beaten, and shot several times; it hasn’t even been that long. Being sick also doesn’t help matters either.

    If you’re feeling up to it, run Anti-Virus and Spyware scans first. I don’t know the specs, so it’s tough to guess what it is. Maybe a program is running when it shouldn’t/eats up too much resources (Usually spyware in this case), it could be a virus, or the worst case scenario. Usually, the easiest way to see if it is a hard drive problem is to clean out the entire drive and re-install Windows Vista to see if it happens again. Then again, you probably don’t want to…

    Oh well. AT LEAST run Anti-Virus and Spyware scans. If you feeling up to it, check out tech websites to find more information about it. If you still can’t solve it, leave it to your brother. I really doubt it’s a HD problem though.

  17. man, that sucks your computer is messed up and that you are sick. I hope you feel better soon!

  18. Hope you’ll feel better and come back soon :) *gives a cookie*.

  19. YOU TOO?!
    I just finally got my laptop fixed two days ago!

    <.< Turns out that my anti-virus software wasn’t working as well as it should have been… I’m just glad I haven’t lost anything. As far as I know… I’m scared to check. Anyway… If it’s still going on, I hope it gets sorted soon!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Entries and comments feeds.

