Weekly Anime (10/4 – 10/7)

October 7, 2008 at 7:53 pm | Posted in Weekly Anime | 6 Comments

(Kannagi)

I watched another show I didn’t intend to (Kannagi as seen from above). I really have to stop doing that. No matter what recommendations I’ve gotten and what I read in blogs, I’m just watching Chaos;Head and I’m not picking anything else up unless I drop something.

This post I’m just talking about To Aru Majutsu no Index and Kannagi. Also a quick little blurb on Clannad.

I don’t think I’ve ever followed so many anime at much (though some will laugh at me and call me a wuss since I know some watch more than this). So far I’ve watched Hakushaku to Yousei, Akane-iro Somaru Saka, ToraDora!, Yozakura Quartet, Clannad ~After Story~, Kurogane no Linebarrels, Shugo Chara!! Doki, Kannagi, To Aru Majutsu no Index, and Skip Beat!.

That makes 10 anime so far. Chaos;Head still hasn’t premiered and that’s been on my must-watch list since day one. I only like to watch eight anime at a time at the most…so we’ll have to just wait and see how this goes.

Clannad ~After Story~ – Whoa. Is MAL wrong or is the planned episode count for this series 24? I’ve been hearing 13 all this time so seriously…whoa.

If it’s true…no more need to worry about time constraints. Seriously…this is awesome. We’ll really get the whole After Story, won’t we?

Kannagi – Episode 01

Another show I didn’t show any interest in until someone else posted about it. All the posts I’ve seen floating around got me really interested. I remember hearing the premise for the show about a month ago and it kind of interested me, but I forgot about it. I didn’t really care for the character designs.

However, people started writing about it and my interest was perked. Most of them were talking about the opening, but hey…a fun opening has made me watch plenty of anime before and this one is plenty fun, but I have a post planned for all the opening of my “Weekly Anime” so we’ll leave it at that.

The first episode pretty much just spent the time explaining the plot and just generally setting things up, but I did have a few moments where I laughed, so that’s certainly good. Overall, I enjoyed the whole episode, so I don’t have anything bad to say about it.

The reasons why I enjoyed it…well I love Nagi. Deciding to use a mahou shoujo wand to get rid of “impurities” (as the fansub I watched translated it) was classic. Her sudden bursts of violence were great too because you could just tell when they were coming. “Oh. No one’s moving. She’s going to hit him in a second.” *wham* “Woo!” I guess you can just say that this anime has a good handle on comedic timing.

As for Jin, well he’s entirely useless, but in a good funny way. He’s a perv, but he’s a spineless secretive perv who blushes over anything. Aside from that he’s okay though. lol, it sounds like I’m insulting him, but he’s really amusing. I just have one question…did I miss something? Why does he have that band-aid on the whole episode?

I really can’t say much more about it and I don’t feel like summarizing the plot at all. To be able to get it I really think you just have to watch it. So those of you who haven’t already should go watch it now. Or at least enjoy the opening. If you can watch the OP without your interest being perked at all, this probably isn’t your type of show.

To Aru Majutsu no Index – Episode 01

Index really is as cute as she seemed in the promo. I’m tempted to just keep watching it for her adorable voice and personality. Nuns have never looked so cute before. Of course, this also gives me my awesome magic and action. Hell yeah!

Quite simply, I was looking forward to this anime since I first watched the PV and it definitely didn’t let me down. It’s a JC Staff anime…that seems to have a clear plot. ZOMG! Okay, that’s a bit much. I haven’t seen all that many JC Staff anime. They get a bad reputation just for making ZnT. Luckily ToraDora! and Index this season will make me forget that crap and I might even like JC Staff…if they do things right. I like the first episodes for both of these anime though. So I have a good feeling.

As for characters, which is my most important connection to a series, Index did about as well as the other series I’ve been following so far this year. I don’t really care for Mikoto, the level 5 ESPer, but she’s really just been introduced as a stuck-up brat at this point. So who cares? I’m not supposed to really like her. The loli teacher makes me crack up because…seriously. The classmates are amusing as side characters, properly entertaining. Then, of course, I love cute little Index. She’s properly silly, but she can get down to plot-related business when it becomes necessary.

Toma, however, gets to win this season for being my favorite male lead in a non-shoujo series so far this season. Chaos;Head is a VN, so no matter how good it is, I doubt that title will be taken from him. However, Toma seems mature and aware of his own situations, he’s not a pushover, he’s not perfect though either, and he’s not an asshole.

Now this season I’ve liked a few male characters, which is quite unusual, but Toma is still my favorite. Ryuuji from ToraDora! was good too, but he’s still a pushover. Toma is a nice guy with bad circumstances (his awful luck), but he still won’t just take crap from anyone. Not even a level 5 ESPer who can bring lightening down on the whole city.

I also love the setting. I wouldn’t say it’s necessarily unique, but it becomes a little more unique by joining together quite a few things. Magic, ESPers, academics, futuristic, science, and then cute little nuns (lol). This series also seems to actually have something resembling a plot with bad guys and (ZOMG) a cliffhanger at the end. Nothing else I’ve watched this season has made me actually excited about seeing the story continue.

Of course, I’m looking forward to seeing more characters and more fun from some other anime, but until Index nothing really grabbed my attention for its story. Now, I’ve filled my “ooo~! Plot~!” void after…who knows how long. I really can’t remember the last time I was genuinely interested in a plot in addition to characters. Of course, who knows how long that will last. Next week things might get resolved for the time being. But for now, I’ll enjoy it and I’m looking forward to episode two.

There were a couple more anime I was interested in seeing, but…I mean I just can’t do it. God forbid I become interested in more anime. I’m not like most people, if I like the first episode at all, I’ll usually end up watching it all the way through. Unless I spoil myself with other people’s blogging entries. Then I kind of lose interest. But I’m determined not to do that this time.

All I can say is thank god I didn’t finish marathoning anything I intended to over the summer. Then I’d have sequels to worry about too. More anime is not necessary right now!

Anyway, my current total for anime to blog about for Anime Weekly is six (occasionally seven). That includes:

  • Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka
  • ToraDora!
  • Yozakura Quartet
  • To Aru Majutsu no Index
  • Kannagi
  • Chaos;Head
  • Hakushaku to Yousei (when I can’t post regularly)

Hmm…it looks like starting next week I can just manage to fit them all in the same post each week. I’m still contemplating about doing separate posts for Chaos;Head, just without my usual rambling and excessive screencaps. Sort of like how I do my Weekly Anime instead, but with more to it.

…Well, I’ll make my decision after I get the chance to watch it. I won’t post anything before I get a good, reliable fansub anyway. I’m avoiding spoilers like the plague. I want to follow an anime’s story properly for once.

I’ll be putting up a page for my schedule once I make my final decision. Hopefully I won’t kill myself watching anime. I doubt I’ll actually stop watching any of these shows, but if it gets to be too much I might stop blogging a couple. With certain show, you just don’t have much to say and it ruins the fun if you try to say too much.

Luckily, I’m not watching any massively popular sequels or anything. The more popular a series is, the less I tend to enjoy it because I spoil myself by reading other blogs. That’s not good.

To wrap this up now, I chose Kannagi as the main image this week because it ended up being a fun surprise for me. I liked Index and Kannagi equally, but Index was exactly what I expected it to be, so Kannagi gets the spot for being a surprise. It also gets the final image spot because I always love using those images whenever possible.

(I feel like I may have screwed up again because I feel like crap right now. So, sorry if there’s some gaping hole in my personal spoiler-less reviews.)

6 Comments

  1. I had a similar reaction to Kannagi. I was planning on watching at least the first episode, because the music during the preview video was so good, but the plot looked kinda.. overdone. Still, I found myself really liking the story, probably because of the comedic scenes and because of Nagi. Her voice is just so good :>
    Oh and I can’t say enough good things about the OP, it’s such a catchy song, and the dancing along with the music fits perfectly. I’d daresay it’s my favorite OP this season, at least of the ones I’ve seen.

  2. Heh. The loli teacher in To Aru Majutsu no Index is pure crack humor. The horrible things she says with such a cute voice..

    Toma’s bad luck is probably going to end up help him out some more though (As well as probably making his life ten times worse in the mean time).

    I’m guessing the plot will be resolved during the episode, but at the end they’ll have another cliffhanger.

  3. You’ve watched Kurogane no Linebarrels too? I watched it and I was terribly disappointed with the show. God it was crappy IMO. If Clannad after story would be that 24-episode long, that would be… too long (and my Haruhi 2 or Little Busters would be delayed again). And about Kannagi, I think I’ll probably be dropping that the time it gets too much retardedly ecchi-harem so I hope it wouldn’t be like one. Index was awesome though. I’ve read it also on other blogs and I gave it a try and it was cool.

  4. lol You amaze me. That’s all I got to say. xD
    Kannagi and To Aru Majutsu no Index seem interesting from reading your review. Not enough for me to get me to watch them, tho. I guess I really am one of those people who judge on animation design before everything else so maybe that’s why it didn’t make it to my list (plot may or may not be relevant in some cases but eh…). & once I make a ToWatch list, I stick with those shows only and drop them if I lose interest or just get too pissed off at something. Maybe if the winter season doesn’t have a good line-up, I’ll go back and watch it (& it’ll already be mostly subbed so yay~).
    CLANNAD…huh, I’m too tired to even care anymore. I just want to see Ushioooo~! ^^;
    & yes, you shouldn’t kill yourself with watching too much anime. You still have your manga. Unless you’re like me and deliberately make time to watch them when you SHOULD BE doing hwk. *really, really bad girl* xDDD;;
    K, that’s it. m33w should have their HtY sub out soon. Can’t wait. ^^ I also want a better raw resolution. lol

  5. Six anime to blog about is plenty! The most important thing is keeping a balance. If you have too many anime to blog, you might feel tired and both your writing and your mood may suffer. You don’t have to blog every anime you watch – only those you really care about :)

  6. nazarielle: The plot is overdone. Absolutely. EVen the acting like a magical girl bit. But it’s just so much fun. Nagi is definitely a big draw for me too. I love her personality.

    Well, I know it’s my favorite OP so far. It’s really good.

    —–

    warriorhope: Well, with his right hand being the way it is, I’m sure that’s true. For a great power like that (dispelling anything around you), you have to suffer! But there’s not a doubt in my mind that it’ll all be helpful for him down the road.

    At the very least, the bad guys should keep showing up.

    —–

    kanzeon: That show becomes even crappier when you read the manga. I’ve only read the first few chapters and I can already tell that Gonzo screwed up. Big time.

    But the After Story in the game is like…as long as the first part of the game. Then they need to finish up Nagisa’s route and they’re doing Sunohara’s story next week. It would have ended up badly if they tried to shove everything into 13 episodes.

    But…*sigh* Little Busters! They better announce an adaptation after episode 24!

    God I hope Kannagi doesn’t get too much like that. Dammit…now you’ve started up my fears of all things harem.

    —–

    xiao_jie88: Oh I can understand that “interesting, but not enough to watch” thing. I don’t have time for any more anime right now so many interesting things have been completely ignored.

    If you judge by animation design, does that mean you’re not going to watch Skip Beat!? You have to! It’s one of the best shoujo manga ever being animated. Even if you haven’t read the manga, you have to watch the anime! Though it would be helpful if someone subbed it (I don’t need fansubs, but it’s a popular anime…someone should sub it).

    Well, 24 episode ensures that you get to see Ushio. All of her adorable scenes in their entirety~!

    Actually, I don’t really have much manga. I keep falling behind in everything (except Tsubasa which I really wish I could just pretend didn’t exist…).

    —–

    Kitsune: Oh yes, I’m familiar with that happening. If any of these anime become a drag to blog about I’m going to drop them. I’m sure itll happen with at least a couple.

    And I have more than 6 too. I’m blogging about three others. Heh. Those are the ones I really, really care about. Anything else can be dropped like a hat once I get bored.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Entries and comments feeds.

