Fall Anime (2008)

August 27, 2008 at 2:26 pm | Posted in Anime | 15 Comments
Tags:

It’s here (almost)! The upcoming Fall Season is pretty epic. I started off kind of like, “Well, I have Clannad…so I can watch that.” But then over the Summer a bunch of anime have been announced so I’m more like, “HELLS YES! Fall is awesome!” now.

It’s just…really too bad that the good seasons of anime always coincide with going back to school and college.

But let’s get past that and start drooling over the upcoming Fall anime now.

Yes, there’s no Top Ten today. A preview takes even more effort than a top ten list, so I hope everyone will be satisfied with this today. I really wanted to get it done and get it out there.

It feels a little late, even though it’s not even the end of August (just about everything comes out in October). But waiting has made me able to get my hands on more content to give more info on all of these shows. And with more info I’m able to make an easier guess as to what I’ll be watching.

I’m also only listing series that I have something to say about. I don’t have the energy for a full preview.

This is also somewhat of a work in progress and my first real preview so don’t get all critical with me. It’s just to give my readers and idea of what I’ll be blogging.

—–

Carried-Over Series

Series don’t usually carry over from Summer to Fall or Winter to Spring, but it seems that this time I’ve got one.


Series: Shugo Chara!
Airdate: 10/10/08 or 10/04/08 (There’s different places saying different things)
ANN

There was some confusion about what “second season” or “second year” for Shugo Chara meant, so let me clarify. I finally found some translations of the article announcing the second year (and looked some things up to be sure myself) and it’s continuing right in October. No real break (I’m 99% sure about this).

Also…I didn’t hear this until recently, it’s what made me check it out, but it’s true that a new Hello!Project band will be doing the themes for the anime (or at least the opening theme I think). There’s a scan of the announcement floating around.

Now, I’m not sure if the new group will do both the ending and opening, but it’s 90.0% confirmed by me for at least the opening.

Watching? Of course. I need to see Ikuto’s arc after all.
Blogging? Yes…even if it kills me (which it might). I’m as stubborn as my three favorite girls.
Raw or Subs? Raw as always.

———-

Sequels and New Seasons

This certainly seems to be the season of…second seasons. Some good, some bad, plenty worth mentioning though.

Series: Clannad ~After Story~
Sequel of: Clannad
Air Date: 10/02/08
Website: http://www.tbs.co.jp/clannad/
Videos: CM, Trailer,
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Following Nagisa’s story from the game after she and Tomoya started dating. Containing the usual emphasis on family.

Moar Nagisa~! And this time Nagisa doesn’t have to share the spotlight with anyone…except Tomoya of course.

Clannad really doesn’t need any introduction. Anyone who’s going to watch it has already made up their minds. The only way you wouldn’t want to watch the sequel after watching Clannad would be if you hate Nagisa. In which case GTFO, I don’t want you at my After Story party anyway!

A lot of people have neither watched the movie nor have they played the game (and I’ll say it again in vain, that they’re different), but I’ll stop here anyway to keep from being spoiler-ish. Just…I’ll keep my tissue box handy.

And for the record…yes. I know how the game ends.

Watching? Certainly.
Blogging? You couldn’t stop me from blogging this!
Raw or Sub? Hmm…maybe both? I’m not sure at this point. I’ll probably do raw for the first episode out of impatience and do subs from that point on.

Series: Gundam 00 (Second Season)
Sequel of: Gunam 00
Air Date: 10/05/08
Website: http://www.gundam00.net/
Videos: Trailer (or something…lol)
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Description added later.

I’m trying to plow through the first season before this season starts. I was planning on waiting for the DVDs, but after seeing a couple of spoilers already (and thankfully forgetting them before I was able to associate names and characters) I just knew what was going to happen if the second season started airing before I finished the first season.

Watching? I’ll try to.
Blogging? Not likely.
Raw or Sub? Subtitles.

Series: Ef ~A Tale of Melodies~
Sequel of: Ef ~A Tale of Memories~
Air Date: 10/06/08
Website: http://www.ef-melo.com/
Videos:
Trailer
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Description added later.

I never really ended up following this series when it was first airing for some reason. Even though I wanted to. I’m watching it now that the second season is coming around. I’m looking forward to watching the new season because of it.

Watching? Yes (but maybe not as it airs)
Blogging? No
Raw or Subs? Maybe both.

Series: Nodame Cantabile: Paris
Sequel of: Nodame Cantabile
Air Date: 10/09/08
Website: http://www.nodame-anime.com/
Videos: Not Available
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Description added later.

Another series I’m going to try to watch before the new season comes around, but at a more leisurely pace. Anyone who’s opinion I value says it’s a good series, so I want to watch it too. It’s not something where I’m too worried about spoilers getting out though, so I can take it easy.

Watching? Probably
Blogging? Not likely.
Raw or Sub? Subtitles.

Series: Rosario Vampire Capu
Sequel of: Rosario Vampire
Air Date: 10/01/08
Website: http://www.rosa-vam.com/
Videos: (I’m not adding any out of stubbornness)
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

More unnecessary boob and panty-shots that even some fanservice fans find ridiculous.

You know, I actually read a little of this manga. It’s not that bad. If it weren’t for Gonzo being suckheads, I could totally watch this. Nana Mizuki’s in it. But no…Gonzo changed it all around to make it more perverted and sucky. And it looks like this season has some anime original characters too (from what I’ve heard). Yeah…I’m sure that will make it much better.

But this one deserves a mention because it’s done by Gonzo and will probably be getting their download and professionally subbed treatment. As much as I hate this anime, I hope it does well with the subs so other anime companies will see it as a good way to legally spread their stuff.

Watching? No. Never.

Series: Vampire Knight Guilty
Sequel of: Vampire Knight
Air Date: 10/01/08
Website: http://www.vampire-knight.jp/
Videos: Trailer
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Last season was Zero’s past, this season is set to reveal Yuki’s past, before she lost her memories.

I might actually watch some episodes of this to see if it stopped sucking. Personally, I stopped even remotely liking the manga midway through the storyline from last season anyway, so I kind of doubt it. I’ll follow it through blogs to see if there’s any episodes I feel are worth watching. I’ll at least keep up with it so I can see everyone else rage the way the manga fans did when the certain events happen that cause long-haired Yuki.

That aside…wtf guilty? Why do anime add in random English words they think sound cool and match their anime’s mood but have nothing to do witht he actual storyline? This one should go into Yuki’s past. No “guilty” involved…

Watching? An episode here and there…to laugh at the emo.
Blogging? Hell no.
Raw or subs? If it’s the same group subbing it, it might as well be raw. That stupid gothic font was annoying.

—–

New Series

This is where the real preview comes in. None of this stuff is “guaranteed” in the same way because a lot of it is completely new to a lot of fans.

Series: Skip Beat!
Based on: Manga by Yoshiki Nakamura
Air Date: 10/05/08
Website: http://www.tv-tokyo.co.jp/anime/s-beat/
Videos: Not Available
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Kyoko was in love with her friend Sho since they were children, so when he asked her to come with her to Tokyo so he could become a celebrity, she agreed without hesitation. However, one day she finds out that she’s been nothing more than a servant to Sho and she vows to get her revenge by beating him in show business.

It’s hard to say if I’m more excited about Clannad or this. Probably this, just because I’m calmer about my enthusiasm towards Clannad. Skip Beat! brings out the crazy fangirl sides that Kyoko herself tends to have. It’s shoujo. It’s got everything you want from shoujo. And not just that, it stands out from the pack because instead of Kyoko being all in tears and trying to “change” her bad boy boyfriend she makes a 180 turn and vows revenge.

Basically, I just love the manga, so I have to watch the anime. And I’m feeling pretty optimistic about the anime too.

Watching? Hell yes.
Blogging? Damn straight.
Raw or Sub? Raw. I’ve read the manga.

Series: Hakushaku to Yosei
Based on: Light Novel by Mizue Tani
Air Date: 09/28/08
Website: http://www.myfairy.tv/
Trailers: Recorded Trailer, Trailer
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

The story is set in 19th century England and centers on a “fairy doctor” named Lydia. Her life takes a 180-degrees turn when she meets a legendary blue knight count named Edgar and his crew. He hires her as an adviser during his quest to obtain a treasured sword that was supposed to be handed down to him by his family. (Source: ANN)

I was excited about this back in May. I think my feelings towards a series taking place in Victorian England with Nana Mizuki voicing the main character are understood.

Watching? Yes.
Blogging? Yes.
Raw or Subs? …probably with subs. For some reason I have a harder time understanding anime that take place in England.

Series: Chaos;Head
Based on: Visual Novel by 5pb
Air Date: 10/14/08
Website: http://www.chaoshead.jp/
Videos:
Game OP, Trailer, Trailer2
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Takumi is a high school student. He is withdrawn and is not interested in 3D things. In his town, a mysterious serial murder case happens and people get panicked. One day, when he chats on the internet, a man suddenly contacts him and gives him an URL. He goes to the website and finds a blog image that suggests a next murder case…. On the next day, it really happens… (Source: ANN)

I love mystery and nice bloody stories, but usually by the time I find an anime like that it’s already over. I may like that sort of stuff, but I never, ever feel like marathoning it and I lack the ability to slow myself down. So I’m looking forward to it, anyone who’s played the game has nothing but good things to say about it.

Watching? Yes
Blogging? Not sure yet.
Raw or Sub? Subtitles…definitely.

Series: To Aru Majutsu no Index
Based on: Light Novel by Kazuma Kamachi
Air Date: 10/04/08
Website: http://project-index.net/
Videos: Trailer
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

In a world where science clarifies supernatural powers. In a huge college that has power development in its curriculum. To a resident high school student, Kamijou Touma, a pure white sister appears. She calls herself “Index” and says that sorcerers are chasing her. Thus, Kamijou Touma enters the world of the occult. (Source: ANN)

Hmm, I’m not too excited about this one, but the trailer really got me hooked. It’s got some magic action that I’ve been missing since I dropped Wagaya no Oinari-sama (it got picked up for potential license or something and I can be patient and wait for it on DVD for a couple of years). Also, Index sounds so cute and I’ve never seen anything her seiyuu (Yuka Iguchi) has been in before, so I want to hear something now.

Watching? If it goes well.
Blogging? Maybe
Raw or Sub? Don’t know.

Series: Akane-Iro no ni Somaru Saka
Based on: Visual Novel by Feng
Air Date: 10/02/08
Website: http://www.mmv.co.jp/special/akasaka/
Videos: Game OP, Recorded Trailer
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

In order to protect the girl Yuuhi Katagiri, a new transfer student, from danger, Junichi Nagase is forced to kiss her. Not understanding what happened, she screams at him, not knowing that her father has arranged for her to marry him. (Source: ANN)

It really just seems like your basic harem love comedy show, but I always try to give things adapted from VNs a chance. Lots of other shows have had a basic romantic premise involving marriage, but turned out really well. But…my expectations aren’t exactly high. We’ll see how it goes. It looks like it has the potential to be cute anyway. However, judging by the game OP really selling the ero stuff, it also has the potential to be crappy.

Watching? Maybe.
Blogging? Maybe.
Raw or Sub? Don’t know.

Series: ToraDora!
Based on: Light Novels by Yuyuko Takemiya
Air Date: 10/01/08
Website: http://www.starchild.co.jp/special/toradora/
Videos: Recorded Trailer
(ANN) (Wikipedia) (MAL)

Ryuuji Takasu is frustrated with trying to look his best as he enters his second year of high school. Despite his gentle personality, he has a natural outer-appearance which makes him look like an intimidating delinquent so he is hopeless about getting a girlfriend anytime soon. Ryuuji goes to school and is happy to find that he gets to be in the same class as his best friend, Yūsuke Kitamura, and crush, Minori Kushieda. However, it is then that he unexpectedly knocks into “the school’s most dangerous animal of the highest risk level” — Taiga Aisaka — who just happens to also be in his class. (Source: Edited from OneManga)

You know, everyone seems really excited about this one, but I’m not feeling it. It’s based off of an award-winning light novel and I did read the first chapter of the manga, but…I think it’s because Rie Kugimiya was chosen to play the small loli-ish girl with a bad temper. Surprise, surprise. Before I heard that I was interested, but then I kind of just went, “ugh”. Rie Kugimiya is great, but I’d like to hear her in more different roles and I’d really like to hear someone else playing this sort of character too.

Well, I’m going to try reading some of the translated light novel before writing it off.

Watching? Who knows…
Blogging? No (plenty of other people will)
Raw or Sub? Subtitles.

—–

These are all my current feelings toward the anime I’m even thinking about watching this season. As you can tell…there’s a lot of them here. I’ll be taking college courses starting on September 3rd (and then there’s also the matter of a parttime job) so how much free time I’ll have remains to be seen. My full blogging schedule will obviously have to wait until I watch everything on this list.

For now, just enjoy it. I’ll be updating this list regularly when new info comes out. I have a new little widget on top of my sidebar that will list any new updates about the Fall Season concerning my blog until I have the schedule all worked out.

Anyway, no matter what, this season looks like it’s going to be a hectic one. I’ve already got three “guaranteed to blog” anime which will make four including SC and I still want to add in one more. We’ll see what happens though.

(Side blog note: SA’s post will be up sometime later today)

15 Comments

  1. I am so excited for the fall season…I’ve been waiting for ages and ages! I’m watching almost everything you are. I’m not so sure about Vampire Knight yet, the manga’s good but the anime is just getting more annoying. :P I might watch the episode when Yuki’s hair grows though…just cause I’d like to see that! I’m looking forward to future episode reviews!!

  2. You’re lying, right? Please tell me that you are lying. That Shugo Chara! is starting the second season right after the end of the first one is just to mess with my brain…NOOOOO!!! They want to kill me, don’t they?!?!?! *writhes in agony*
    *cough* K, now that’s over with, I really didn’t believe it when I heard people talkin’ about it being in the fall cuz all I have is that “Green-lit for second season” article (and maybe something about a new Hello!Project band singing the OP, which I am dead set against). No air-dates or anything. *sigh* SC! is surely going to kill me. I have school, practice, work, fall season and now this? T_T
    After Story~! Nagisa~! Ushio~! <333 Nuff said.
    Tell me how Ef goes. I kinda wanna watch it but also don’t for some reason. Meh.
    -_-; at VK Guilty. They must really love English words to use them in situations where they don’t make sense.
    Looking forward to Hakushaku to Yosei. But why isn’t there one single promo online?! Much thanks to the dude who recorded it but I want good quality video that I can actually hear. *sigh* That aside, the guys are so HAWT!!! xDD;; Especially Kelphie, who for some reason I think is a vampire. Seems like a reverse harem, too, now that I think about it. Um, yea, no other comments.
    Akaneiro and Toradora I’m going to watch. Both seem interesting story-wise, if not cliche but I’ll let that slide. And Akaneiro more for the cast (damn, if nothing else, it’s worth watching for all those seiyuus) and nice animation and Toradora for Rie Kugimiya, though I agree that she’s been the tsundere loli too many times. I’d also like to see something different from her.
    Yep, I think that’s it.
    Looking forward to your posts and good luck on fitting it with your schedule. Wish me luck, too. *dreadful*

  3. Why would Rosario+Vampire get GONZO’s legalsubs treatment? I mean, it would seem kind of weird since the first season didn’t (as far as I know). Though it would be a good idea, since the manga is coming out now too. (cross-promotion)

  4. Yup, some really good anime over there. I’m really looking forward the fall season!~
    Nway, from what I’ve seen and read, i’m just gonna comment about the new anime (not the sequels).
    So…
    Skip Beat! – I’ll definitely watch this. I mean, it’s shoujo, and the story is so cute. Actually, just because it is shoujo makes me want to watch it, so yeah, I’ll watch this.
    Hakushaku to Yosei – I don’t really like the fact that the story takes place in England, especially in the 19th century… but I still find the cat really cute (it is a cat, right? .-.) and, of course, the main character voiced by Nana Mizuki make me want to watch it. I’ll watch the first episodes and, if i find it interesting, i’ll continue watching. So, we’ll see~
    Chaos;Head – Well, this seems interesting. I love mystery but I hate blood and violent things x_x’ So, if I find it appealing and not so bloody, I’ll watch it :3
    To Aru Majutsu no Index – Judging from the trailer, it looks kewl~ I think that magic action is really nice and, if done with good animation, becomes even better. If I like it and the animation turns out to be good, I’ll watch it.
    Akane-Iro no ni Somaru Saka – A love comedy. I’m not expecting great things from this anime. It may turn out to be good, yes, but I’ll most probably not watch it.
    ToraDora! – I guess I’ll watch this. Seems like a nice, cute and relaxing anime~
    Lot of nice animes, it seems :3 I hope they turn out to be good =X
    Also, for your first preview it’s really good. Just reading your previews from the series makes people want to watch them. So, gratz ;D

  5. amayalee: That’s the main episode of VK I plan on watching actually. For some reason, I love seeing trainwreck “shit hitting the fan” stuff like that.

    I’d also like to see Yuki’s hair grow just for the heck of it too.

    —–

    xiao_jie88: Hmm? I got the impression from the ANN announcement way back that SC would be continuing right away. I could be wrong, but the fact that it’s “second year” and not “second season” means there’s no break in between, right?

    And a new Hello!Project band is a super NO! Though, I still haven’t heard anything about that. I’m too attached to Buono! already.

    Hmm…the situation with HtY’s recorded promo reminds me of SA’s. They’re both pretty long. I hope that means we’ll get to see a nice good quality version later too…

    —–

    anonymous: Well, back when the first season of Rosario+Vampire aired, they weren’t doing legal fansubs yet. I think that aired in Winter, and it was Spring when they started their legal subbing.

    —–

    Meball: Ah, another person who hasn’t read the Skip beat! manga and is planning to watch it. I’d completely forgotten that people like that exist (I thought everyone who liked shoujo had already read Skip Beat, I’m a silly girl).

    Watch it for Nana-sama~! And the cat wearing a top hat!

    The only reason why I’m hesitant about Index is a fear that the animation will drop in quality and the fights will end up looking lame (I hope not).

    I’m glad to hear that then (I postponed my preview because I wasn’t sure how it would work out for a while).

  6. -sigh- Good to know Clanned will be continued :D (even though I’ve never watched it xD)

    Also….I WISH they’d continue Cardcaptor Sakura! I need to see how Sakura and Syaoran’s relationship goes!

    Besides….you said Tsubasa anime sucked >_> so…yeah….Moar Cardcaptor Sakura, PWEASE :)

    Oh goodie….Vampire Emo Knight is continuing XD The anime probably isn’t that good….but the manga freakin ROCKS.

    So, yeah….about the same attitude I usually have…cept I’m kinda sad about no more Cardcaptor :(

  7. Also! What about Shina Dark? Is that EVER gonna be an anime? Is it out on anime already?

    I MUST KNOW!!!

  8. Fall is full of awesomeness again just like last year… I don’t know what to do with my life anymore!!! I want to blog all of this but school activities sucks eggs. Tora Dora, Hakushaku, VK Guilty, Chaos;Head and some you didn’t mention like Kuroshitsuji, Ga-Rei Zero and Jigoku Shoujo are on my must-watch list.

    ToraDora because it is cute ^_^…

    Hakushaku because Nana Mizuki + Sugita Tomokazu = win…

    Vampire Knight Guilty ONLY for Rima and Shiki…

    Chaos;Head because you’ll see [SPOILER:] a group of people jumping off a tower and a pregnant man…

    Kuroshitsuji because of the HOT bishie butler…

    Ga-Rei Zero because of it’s horror/romance genre…

    and Jigoku Shoujo because I’ve wasted my life watching the first two seasons. Since my life was already wasted on this, I’ll just watch the third:)

    Other than that, sequels like ef and Clannad shouldn’t be missed.

    I’ll watch To Aru Majutsu no Index if the nun girl would end up with the main guy ;)…

    Series with a powerhouse seiyuu cast like Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka may look interesting but I hope it wouldn’t suck just like what B00bDragonaut did.

    And lastly, I also look forward on you blogging Skip Beat! I already smell funny sarcasms and rages for Shou!

  9. Well, there are only two series I’ve already played the games too, and will watch out of curiosity. The first one is ef – A Tale of Melodies (or ef – The Latter Tale to VN players), and the second has this highly popular phrase amongst people who’ve played this game:

    その目だれの目。。。
    その目だれの目。。。
    その目だれの目。。。

    And this one too.

    キミは。。。誰?

    Now time to go back and re-play ef and the other game. ef – The Latter Tale was EPIC. Hopefully, ef – A Tale of Melodies is the same way. And Clannad too, but just because it’s there.

  10. I came across the Tora Dora manga and loved it. XD

    Shugo Chara 2nd Season = More rabid fans

    So be prepared. *Loads up gun*

  11. First time commenting always been a lurker though >.>.
    Ah fall. Such aweosome anime including Clannad after story and Skip Beat >:D
    I usually find visual novels to anime sucky, because they end up being crappy and too fanservice-y(not all of them just look at CLANNAD,Kanon,Air) but I might end up watching Akane-Iro no ni Somaru Saka because the one of the characters are being voiced by Hirano Aya >.>
    Shugo chara I’ll continue wathcing probably because of the bed scene .> Plus Nana Mizuki top that will shoujo-ness=epic win. Plus it’s airing on my B-Day nice present if I dont say so myself.
    Clannad after story. I know it will be awesome ’cause theres more nagisa o3o and cute little Ushio. I wonder which ending they’re going for though.(Played the game)
    I love Skip Beat the manga so the anime WILL be great. That’s all there is to it.
    I’m probably watching ToraDora looks really cute. I read the light novels and it’s really good. Plus it’s romance so uh yeah.
    Don’t have much else to say but a pretty good season for anime.
    Great preview you just made me look even MORE forward to the new shows :D.

  12. Cool List! I guess I could watch some of those since they seem really cute, lol :P I think that the top of my watchlist would be Skip Beat(keke~ It’s time it was made into an anime XD). I would also watch Vampire Knight Guilty and Clannad: After Story.

    I’m not really sure about Shugo Chara ’cause believe me or not,, I’m getting bored of it because of the fillers and not being straight to the point. I haven’t been watching SC since ep. 44 XP

  13. I have a very good feeling about most of the anime. XDXDXD The summer animes were rather disappointing, finally some good animes to sink my teeth into! YESYESYESYES!!!!!!!!!!!! And my exams end roughly around the start of Fall animes too~!!!!!!!

  14. I think I might look into the first season of Vampire, definitely Hakushaku and Chaos.
    Aren’t there any new magical girl shows this fall?? *disappointed*

  15. wow!! this fall seems to be one of the better seasons!! of all the times!! i m waiting!exited! wow


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Entries and comments feeds.

