And…the Results Are In

May 25, 2008 at 4:13 am | Posted in Site | 9 Comments

So, back on my livejournal, and I think in my About section, I referred to this blog as sort of a “test.” If it didn’t go well, I might have ended up abandoning it after a while. But I don’t think that will happen.

I wanted to see if the features of WordPress.com’ blogging tools were enough to make me leave the comfort of my nice community on LiveJournal. And they are. I figured they would be. But I was surprised to find that the community on WordPress.com was giving me a lot of help as well.

But most of the credit goes to…

Peach-Pit and that wonderful series Shugo Chara!…which I believe should also claim any credit for the success of my livejournal as well.

The main reason I decided to move my episode reviews off of my livejournal and onto wordpress was because on livejournal I had no clue how many people were reading my reviews. I always figured it was no one until xiao_jie88 started commenting. Then lots of people started commenting and I began to realize, “Oh yeah, people read without commenting, don’t they?” I know I’d done that before.

Then sure enough, I was finding images, and even some cut&paste quotes from my entries. There were certainly more than twenty people reading my journal. And people were pointing out the journal to others, so I became certain that I was getting more views than I originally thought.

And I’m not sure how many of these views are from people from my original livejournal, but yesterday I received 433 views on my blog, more than 4X as much as my previous record of 93. Wow.

I knew I’d get more views on Saturday anyway, since most people were reading my journal for the Shugo Chara! episode summaries. And sure enough, the number jumped up on Saturday and sure enough, the most viewed entry was “Shugo Chara! – Episode 33” (225 views btw). I figured Saturday’s view count would be higher, but I was still really surprised when I broke 200 and it wasn’t even noon yet.

And today, the views are at least going to go past 100 again. It’s still too early to tell how high they’ll go, but it’s once again clear that the success is owed to Shugo Chara!

I’m not sure how popular a new blog usually is, but I still feel pretty good about this successful start. Now I’m aiming for 500! And then 1000, and then…the world!…or not.

(The rest of this post is just some screencaps for anyone who thinks I made the numbers up)


Note: The ones from “Yesterday” are the stats I’m talking about.

So there you have it, my whole Blog Stats page screencapped at 4:11 AM (in my time) for you to enjoy. Man, blogging is fun~!

9 Comments

  1. Cool. Glad to see that ur blog is so popular. Hahas. ^^

  2. oo getting popular already!

  3. congrads! ^_^

  4. waah! that’s so good! you got soooooo many people viewing! well done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yay for fuyumaiden!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hee hee! ^^ really glad you got so many views! thats! good! yay!!!!!!!

  5. Congrats on your success, hun~! xD
    I’d knew you’d get popular! lol From this point on, you’re gonna have an even bigger fanbase. Quite exciting, ne? ^^

  6. CONGRATS!!! 8DDD

  7. I’m going to start commenting now on your blog. I’v been reading your journal for a few weeks now, but I’ve been to shy to comment(I know,I can’t even comment on something on the internet wihtout being shy)Congrats on the popularity of Simplicity!

  8. Thank you everyone~!

    And I’m glad that you’re commenting now Lo-Lo. I’m too shy to comment on other blogs as well, so it doesn’t seem weird to me or anything. I’m getting better though! And I’ve also run into a lot of people who don’t comment either. But I’m happy that you are now. I always love discussing with readers!

  9. Jaja, yeah, most of the times one just doesn’t leave a comment… I’m one of those xP
    Anyway, contrats!! Glad ur blog is gettin’ more popular, I always read ur ‘Shugo Chara!’ eps summaries


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Entries and comments feeds.

